Cœur et Âme : Desmond Tutu

Desmond Tutu

L'archevêque Sud Africain a combattu l'apartheid dans son pays et défendu les droits de l'Homme

Desmond Tutu

Desmond Tutu est né le 7 Octobre 1931, à Klerksdorp, Transvaal. Il suit d'abord les traces paternelles pour devenir professeur, mais décide plus tard d'étudier la théologie. Il est ordonné prêtre en 1960. Il passe plusieurs années au Royaume-Uni avant de rentrer à Johannesburg en 1975. Il est nommé évêque du Lesotho de 1976 à 1978, et Secrétaire Général du Conseil des Églises d'Afrique du Sud de 1978 à 1985. Il apparaît comme l'un des principaux militants anti-apartheid, en étant attaché à la non-violence et soutenant le boycott économique de son pays.

Desmond Tutu
Desmond Tutu

En 1976, suite au durcissement de l'apartheid, élèves et étudiants noirs se révoltent à Soweto amenant une répression sanglante, et des centaines de morts. En 1977, Steve Biko, l'un des leaders anti-apartheid, est assassiné par la police pendant sa détention. Desmond Tutu est invité à prendre la parole aux funérailles de Biko.

Tutu continue à prêcher la non-violence et la réconciliation entre les deux camps avec des droits civils égaux pour tous et un système d'éducation commun. Il reçoit le Prix Nobel de la Paix en 1984, et deux ans plus tard il devient le premier noir à la tête de l'Église Anglicane d'Afrique du Sud.

Desmond Tutu

Après la chute de l'apartheid initiée par F. W. de Klerk, son successeur Nelson Mandela nomme Tutu à la tête de la Truth and Reconciliation Commission.

Desmond Tutu & Dalai Lama        Desmond Tutu        Desmond Tutu

Desmond Tutu a mené d'autres combats pour des causes justes, dans et hors de son pays : il a réitéré ses demandes au gouvernement Israélien de respecter la dignité humaine du peuple Palestinien - qu'il soit musulman ou chrétien. En 2010, il annonce son retrait de la vie publique, mais il continue de commenter ponctuellement des problèmes de société et les événements internationaux.

Desmond Tutu

Heart And Soul: Desmond Tutu


Desmond Tutu

The South African archbishop has fought apartheid in his country and actively defended human rights.

Desmond Tutu

Desmond Tutu was born 7 October 1931, in Klerksdorp, Transvaal. He first followed the steps of his father to become a teacher, but later decided to study theology. He was ordained priest in 1960. He spent several years in the UK, before returning to Johannesburg in 1975. He was Bishop of Lesotho from 1976 to 1978, and Secretary-General of the South African Council of Churches from 1978 to 1985. He emerged as one of the most prominent anti-apartheid activists, promoting non-violent protest and supporting an economic boycott of his country.

Desmond Tutu

In 1976, in response to the intensification of apartheid laws, school children and students began protesting in Soweto. The uprising led to extremely violent police actions and the death of hundreds of children and students. In 1977, Steve Biko, one of the anti-apartheid leaders, was brutally killed by the police during his detention. Desmond Tutu was invited to speak at Biko's funeral.

Desmond Tutu

Tutu kept on preaching non-violence and reconciliation between both sides with equal civil rights for all and a common system of education. He received the Nobel Peace Prize in 1984, and two years later he became the first black person to lead the Anglican Church in South Africa.

Desmond Tutu

After the fall of apartheid initiated by F. W. de Klerk, his successor Nelson Mandela named Tutu head of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission.

Desmond Tutu & Dalai Lama           Desmond Tutu           Desmond Tutu

Desmond Tutu has also stood for other fair causes, in and out of his country: he has repeatedly called upon the Israeli government to respect the human dignity of the Palestinian people - whether Muslim or Christian. In 2010, he announced his retirement from public life, but has continued to occasionally comment on social issues and international affairs.

Desmond Tutu

More info:

Heart And Soul  |  Home

Update 2020-07-13    Copyright Michel ENKIRI