Joy Division - The Eternal

Joy Division were an english band, composed of :

Ian Curtis (vocals)
Peter Hook (bass)
Stephen Morris (drums)
Bernard Albrecht/Sumner (guitar)

Ian Curtis
Photo Kevin Cummins
reproduced with kind permission

Peter Hook
Photo Paul Slattery

Stephen Morris
Photo Kevin Cummins
reproduced with kind permission

Bernard Albrecht/Sumner
Photo Steven Richards / Rockphotos
reproduced with kind permission

They emerged from the punk movement around 1976, and became in less than 3 years, the ultimate new-wave group, even in the eye of fellow-bands like U2, Echo And The Bunnymen or The Cure.

Joy Division's music is at the same time, dark and limpid, oppressing and liberating, dramatic and stimulating, in a word, it is filled with life. In the beginning of the 80's, veracious new-wave bands were more trying to express what they lived, felt and liked than trying to make money or get famous. In the Mancunian group - one has just to see or listen to their gigs to be aware of it, there is a feeling of absolute emergency. No cheating, no advertising (no musician name or picture on the record sleeves), no marketing strategy. They are here because they have to, even if they do not feel like it. Absolute urgency, as the need for your lover's eyes, the comfort of a friend or the smile of a child; urgency that pushes you to the limits, and even further, whatever the cost.

Joy Division
Photo Paul Slattery



Books (with New Order related books)

Discography (with New Order releases, song excerpts and the list of studio sessions)





Reviews (with a New Order section)

TV appearances and filmed concerts

Videography (with New Order videos)

77 Barton Street, Macclesfield, England

Live videos of Peter Hook & The Light and 'New Order' playing Joy Division material


Latest Updates

Books for sale

Photos for sale

Our Facebook Page  |  Home  |  Flag

Update 2021-07-30    Copyright Michel ENKIRI